University of Houston-Victoria

Information Technology

Overview

The Proofpoint Messaging Security Gateway (Proofpoint Protection Server) enforces anti-spam, anti-virus, and file filtering policies for our Exchange mailboxes. All incoming email is inspected by Proofpoint Protection Server as soon as it arrives at UH email servers.

Messages that are identified as being spam are sent to your personal Spam Quarantine.

You will receive an email notification from Do_Not_Reply@tld.com with a subject of End User Digest in your Inbox to let you know when you have messages in the Quarantine.

Release Messages from the Quarantine - Email Digest

The email Digest displays messages that have been classified as spam. These messages are stored in your personal Quarantine for 14 days, allowing you to determine how to handle future messages from the senders – either allow the messages to be delivered or block them.  After 14 days, message will be delete from your personal Spam Quarantine.

The Action you take on these messages determines how future messages from the senders will be handled.

Personal Lists for Safe Senders and Blocked Senders

  • The Safe Senders list is simply a list of approved senders of email. When a sender address is included in the Safe Senders list, the Proofpoint Protection Server does not filter the message for spam. Messages will still be filtered for a virus.
  • A Blocked Senders list contains addresses of people or mailing lists from whom you do not wish to receive email.
    • To mark an email address as safe, simply click the Allow Sender link next to the appropriate email message in the Digest. To mark an email address as blocked, click the Block Sender link for the message.
    • To see your list of personal Safe Senders or Blocked Senders, click the Request Safe/Blocked Senders link in your email Digest.
  • Click the Manage My Account link in your Digest to create a list of Safe Senders or Blocked Senders. A web browser opens, allowing you to add or edit your lists.

When you add a domain name (e.g., yahoo.com) to the Safe Senders list, all email addresses from that domain will be considered “safe.” You should restrict the safe list to specific senders by entering their full email addresses (for example, john.doe@yahoo.com).

 

  • Each time you select Release, the message is delivered to your Inbox.
  • Each time you select Release and Allow Sender, the email is released and the address from that sender is added to your personal Safe Senders list.
  • Each time you select Block Sender, the address from that sender is added to your personal Blocked Senders list.
  • Request New End User Digest – sends you the latest Digest, which contains the last 14 days of messages that have been delivered to your personal Spam Quarantine.
  • To manage your personal Safe/Blocked Senders list, click the Request Safe/Blocked Senders List
  • To manage your preferences from the Web Application, click the Manage My Account link.

Release Messages from the Quarantine - Web Application

Clicking on the Manage My Account link in the email Digest (shown on the previous page), will open the End User Web Application.

The illustration below provides an example of the End User Web Application – it displays in a browser.

Lists for Safe Senders and Blocked Senders

  • The Safe Senders list is simply a list of approved senders of email. When a sender address is included in the Safe Senders list, the Proofpoint Protection Server does not filter the message for spam. Messages will still be filtered for a virus.
  • A Blocked Senders list contains addresses of people or mailing lists from whom you do not wish to receive email.

After you log in to the Web Application, you can decide how to handle future messages from each sender:

  • Release the selected message(s) from the Quarantine and allow future messages from the sender(s) to be delivered – select the message(s) and click Allow Sender.
  • Delete the selected message(s) from the Quarantine and block future messages from the sender(s) to be delivered to your Inbox – select the message(s) and click Block Sender.
  • The currently-selected folder in the left pane displays messages in that folder.
  • The Options menu in the menu bar provides the following choices:
    Request Digest – this choice sends you the latest email Digest.
    Refresh
    – refreshes the right pane. If you use the Delete All choice, use Refresh to display more messages.
    Delete All
    – deletes the currently-displayed messages from your personal Quarantine.
  • Select Lists in the left pane to add senders to your personal Safe Senders and Blocked Senders lists.

Secure Messaging FAQ

Q. I want to receive all of my email, spam or not. Can I opt out of using Secure Messaging services?

No. all incoming and outgoing emails to UHV are filtered by the service.

Q. Why do I get a warning message when I click on links in the Digest?

It is normal to see an “Invalid Certificate” warning when clicking on the links in the Digest. You can safely accept the certificate warning and continue. 

If the Digest links have expired, you will be prompted to log in to the Web Application to manage messages in the Quarantine. 

Q. Can I access secure messaging email account options?

Yes.  click the Manage My Account link in the Digest. A separate browser window pops up on your screen and your personalized account management page will load in this window.

Q. Can I modify Proofpoint Options for my mail account? 

Yes.  click the Manage My Account link in the Digest. A separate browser window pops up on your screen and your personalized account management page will load in this window. 

Q. End user digest in Secure Messaging

If email messages addressed to you were sent to the Quarantine, you will receive an email notification, called an End User Digest (or Digest), in your mailbox. The Digest provides you with a list of the messages addressed to you that are stored in the Quarantine. You can look at the message subject headers to determine their content and decide what actions you want to apply to the messages.  

You may also receive an empty Digest, which is simply an email message indicating that you have no messages in the Quarantine. You may want to receive a Digest even if it doesn’t contain any messages, so you can continue to manage certain aspects of your email. The system administrator decides whether or not users should receive an empty Digest. 

Q. How does email filtering work?

All incoming (and outgoing) email is filtered by the Proofpoint Protection Server. Depending upon Proofpoint Protection Server rules and policies, messages that contain a virus, or spam, or inappropriate content can either be deleted or “scored.”  In the case of spam, the message score indicates the probability that the message is spam – so a message scoring 100 would have 100% chance of being spam (definite spam) and a message scoring 0 would have 0% chance of being spam (legitimate correspondence). Messages scoring high enough to probably be spam are quarantined, and messages scoring below 50 are sent directly to your inbox. 

Q. How do I access my quarantined emails?

To access these features, click the Manage My Account link in the End User Digest. A separate browser window pops up on your screen and your personalized account management page will load in this window. You do not need to authenticate to your account management page because a secure code is generated in your personalized Digest that ensures that only you have access to change your settings.  

View the attachment for detailed instructions.

Q. What is the Quarantine?

The Quarantine is a location on a server where email messages that are suspected to be spam are stored temporarily so that they can be reviewed and retrieved if necessary. System administrators have the ability to search for messages on a user’s behalf. You may also review and take action on your own quarantined email through the use of the End User Digest. Messages that are not released from the Quarantine are automatically deleted after a designated period of time. 

Q. How do I delete my messages in the Quarantine?

There is no need to delete your messages in the Quarantine. 

If you do not release a message from the Quarantine, it will automatically be deleted after 14 days. If you look at the messages in your Digest and determine that all of them are spam, you do not need to do anything. The messages will automatically be deleted from the Quarantine.