University of Houston-Victoria

Safety and Risk Advisory Committee


This committee serves in an advisory role to the President and addresses the various safety and risk related issues that affect students, faculty and staff at the UHV campus.  The committee's mission is to:

  1. Identify, evaluate and recommend solutions to existing or potential safety and risk related concerns/issues brought to attention.  This includes general campus safety and security issues, ADA compliance issues and drug and alcohol abuse issues;
  2. Serve as advocates and spokepersons for employees and students in matters of safety and risk, advocating the importance of safe work practices, individual responsibility and risk awareness as a conscious routine part of daily activity;
  3. Assist the Safety and Risk Manager in initiatives to meet safety and risk goals, e.g. serving in task groups or ad-hoc committees.

The committee chair will address organizational changes and make necessary appointments to the membership during the fiscal year.  The committee will meet quarterly and minutes of the proceedings should be distributed to the university community.  

Reports to:  President


  • Stuart Sherman, Chair
  • John Burke
  • Devon Camacho
  • Greg E. Garcia
  • Nancy R. Gresham
  • Carol Keeney
  • Brandon Lee
  • Eunice G. Mesa
  • Tim Michalski
  • Dmitri Sobolev
  • Beverly C. Tomek
  • Ashley W. Walyuchow
  • James E. Williams