University of Houston-Victoria


Past UHV Presidents

The University of Houston-Victoria began as an effort in the late 1960s by the local community to bring a higher learning institution to Victoria. In 1973, after meetings with Texas legislators, community leaders succeeded in establishing an off-campus center of the University of Houston called the University of Houston Victoria Center. In its inaugural year, 100 students enrolled in at the center. 

In April 1983, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 235, which granted the institution permanent degree-granting status in the state of Texas. The University of Houston Victoria Center was renamed the University of Houston-Victoria and became the University of Houston System's fourth university.

1972-1977: Reginald Taylor (director, 1972-75; chancellor, 1975-77)

1977-1978: George Taulbee (acting chancellor)

1978-1981: Robert Maxson

1981-1986: Martha Piper

1986-1991: Glenn Goerke

1991-1992: Don Smith (interim president)

1992-1995: Lesta Van Der Wert Turchen

1995-2004: Karen Haynes (interim, 1995-97; president, 1997-2004)

2004: Don Smith (interim president)

2004-2010: Tim Hudson

2010-2011: Don Smith (interim president)

2011-2014: Phil Castille

2014-2018: Vic Morgan