University of Houston-Victoria


UHV Implementation Team: Meet the Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Purpose of the Committee:

The UHV Diversity and Inclusion Committee was developed by President Robert Glenn to implement the recommendations from the Diversity and Race Task Force, which launched in 2021. The purpose of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee is to help identify policies, programs and strategies geared at creating a university that promotes diversity and inclusion, while creating a campus culture of belonging. The committee aims to focus on university efforts that will positively impact students, faculty, and staff. The focus of the committee will be in alignment with the Diversity and Race Task Force regarding curriculum, recruitment and retention, campus programs, diversity and the greater community and developing sustainable diversity practices for UHV as a whole.

The immediate focus for the Committee is to identify Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DE&I) specific short-term and long-term goals with Key Performance Indicators (KPIs), to build campus engagement (including at leadership levels with strategies, checks and balances) and to impact meaningful change by delivering outcomes.

Committee Members:

  • Karla H. DeCuir, Chair (non-voting member)
  • Jay Lambert, Executive Committee Representative (non-voting member)
  • Nicole Eugene, Faculty
  • Tiarah Figueroa, Student
  • Humberto Hernandez, Faculty
  • Eunice Mesa, HR-Training & Development
  • Cassandra Ward, Student/Housing RAThe Standing Committee is supported by Dr. Jay Lambert, Vice President for Student Affairs.


Inaugural Diversity and Race Task Force Co-Chairs

Diversity and Race Task Force List of Current Members

  • Chance Glenn, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Eunice Mesa, Training Coordinator
  • Freddie Cantu, Assistant Director of Diversity & Inclusion
  • Jean Bosco Irumva, Student
  • Jennifer Ortiz-Garza, Senior Lecturer and Director of Undergraduate Psychology
  • Raymond Tucker, Assistant Professor of Kinesiology
  • Willie J. Black, Jr., Assistant Professor of Kinesiology

Working Group Facilitators