University of Houston-Victoria

Human Resources

Affirmative Action Program

1. The University of Houston System

The University of Houston System (“UHS” or “System”) is an institution of higher education headquartered at 212 Ezekiel Cullen Building Houston, TX, 77204-2018. Established in 1977, UHS provides leadership and support for the combined academic enterprise which includes itself and four primary components: University of Houston, University of Houston-Downtown, University of Houston-Clear Lake, and the University of Houston-Victoria. With these components, the System also operates several off campus teaching centers including facilities located in Sugar Land, Cinco Ranch, Pearland, Northwest Houston and the Medical Center.

The government, control, and direction of the System is vested in a ten member Board of Regents appointed by the Governor of Texas, the Honorable Rick Perry, and confirmed by the legislature. While each regent sits for a six-year term, 1/3 of their terms expire every two years in odd-numbered years.

The organization is led by the Chancellor of UHS, Dr. Renu Khator.  Chancellor Khator is the chief executive officer and is appointed by, and responsible to, the Board of Regents. The Chancellor carries out the policies of the System as determined by the Regents and has direct responsibility for all aspects of the operations of UHS.

UHS provides a wide range of centralized services to its components including legal affairs (Office of General Counsel) and its Office of Equal Opportunity Services (“EOS”). EOS has developed a comprehensive affirmative action program for women, minorities, persons with disabilities, and veterans  seeking employment or are already employed with the System. This AAP provides the principles and policies that commit the System and its component campuses to equal employment opportunity and documents the employment practices and procedures for administration of its affirmative action program.