Related University Policies and Guidelines


TUITION AND FEES

Policies governing the payment or refund of tuition, fees, and other charges are approved by the Board of Regents of the University of Houston System and comply with applicable state statutes. Tuition and fees are subject to change by legislation or university action and become effective on the date enacted. For clarification of any matter relating to the payment or refund of charges, a student should contact the Student Billing and Card Services Office.

A student is not registered or entitled to attend classes, participate in class-related activities, or use University facilities and services until the student has paid tuition and fees in full, initiated an installment pay plan, or has accepted a tuition load. A student who has an outstanding debt to the University may not register until the debt is paid.

Payment Options

Payment may be made by cash, check, money order, cashier’s check, or credit card. Payment may be made in person (Victoria location only) or by mail. Credit card payments using MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover must be made online in UHV self-service option at myUHV Account, https://www.uhv.edu/myuhv/. No payments are accepted at the Sugar Land or Cinco Ranch locations.

Installment Pay Plan (available Fall/Spring semesters only)

Texas State Law (Texas Education Code, Section 54.007) allows students to pay tuition and fees in installments over the course of the semester. Students selecting this option must apply for the option online, accept the terms of the plan and make the first installment payment prior to the payment deadline. The installment agreement can be found online under the payment plan link in the self-service option. Registration will be cancelled if the promissory note is not accepted AND the first installment payment is not posted before the payment deadline. The installment plan is an option available during the Fall and Spring terms only.

There is a $20 installment service charge (nonrefundable) for the installment plan option. Drop and add activity may affect a student’s installment schedule. Students are responsible for reviewing their account online after making schedule changes and paying any additional amount. A $12.50 late fee will be charged for each installment payment that is late.

Students selecting the installment plan are still responsible for future installment payments if courses are dropped or the student withdraws after the tuition refund period has expired. Additionally, students may be subject to one or more of the following actions if full payment, including any late fees, is not made by the payment deadline.

  1. Financial stop on student’s record preventing registration at any UH campus;
  2. Withholding of grades, degree, and official transcripts;
  3. Other penalties and actions authorized by law or university policy.

Tuition and Fee Loans

Tuition and fee loans are available to help students pay tuition and fee to avoid enrollment cancellation. Students request tuition loans online in UHV self-service under the Payment Plan link. Loan proceeds apply directly to the student’s account and cover 100% of total tuition and fee charges for the current semester. Any payments, including financial aid awards, posted to the student account will not be included in the calculation of the loan amount. A loan origination fee of 1.25% of the loan amount may be assessed depending upon the type of loan funds available. The loan duration is 90 days in the fall and spring semesters and 30 days in the summer sessions. Only one tuition loan per student per term will be issued. Please note that Summer I and Summer II are classified as separate semesters.

Book Loans

Book loans are available to help students pay for books and supplies. Students request these loans online in myUHV under the payment plan option. Funds for these loans are delivered in accordance with the refund preference (direct deposit to the Jaguar Card, direct deposit to a bank of choice, or paper check) the student selected in the Jaguar Card activation process. If a refund preference has not been selected, a paper check is mailed to the student 21 days after the book loan request has been processed by the university.

The book loan amount is calculated at a rate of $40 per semester credit hour up to a maximum of $720 for 18 credit hours. Consortium hours which are being taken at another university are not considered in the calculation of the book loan amount. No interest or other service charges are assessed on book loans. Loan duration is generally 30-60 days. Only one book loan per student per semester will be issued. During the summer term, book loan disbursements will be calculated for the number of hours registered at the time of the loan request.

Enrollment Cancellation

It is the student’s responsibility to ensure payment has been posted to their student account by the payment deadlines published on the Important Dates and Deadlines Calendar found at http://calendar.uhv.edu/default.aspx?type=&view=Grid&category=24-0&numdays=45 . To avoid enrollment cancellation students should check their accounts online after making schedule changes and, if required, pay additional charges for added courses before the payment deadline. Financial aid students must pay, or select a payment a payment option such as the tuition loan, to pay any difference between total charges and anticipated aid prior to the payment deadline to avoid enrollment cancellation.

Cancellation for non-payment will occur after the close of business on the due date. If payment has not been made in full and the student has not obligated to pay all unpaid charges under a payment plan, unpaid courses will be cancelled in registration order (last course(s) added will be the first course(s) selected for enrollment cancellation).

Tuition and Fee Refunds (Section 54.006, Texas Higher Education Code)

The University is a State of Texas Institution of Higher Education and refunds are issued in accordance with the State of Texas Higher Education Code, Section 54.006.

Drops and withdrawals become effective the date the drop is processed online, or the date the written notification is received in the Student Records Office. The effective date becomes the official date of the drop or withdrawal for all matters relating to university business. The student assumes responsibility for letters requesting a drop or withdrawal that are delayed or not delivered. Student services and privileges, including library series and use of computer labs, terminate when a student withdraws from the university.

Withdrawal Refunds

Withdrawal refunds are based on the student’s schedule on the effective date of the withdrawal. A student withdrawn by the University for scholastic or other reasons will receive a full refund of fees paid that semester. Reducing semester credit hours to zero is considered a withdrawal.

Withdrawals are processed for refunding beginning on the 13th class day during the Fall/Spring terms, the 5th class day during the summer term (also includes 10, 8, 5 week sessions), and the 2nd class day for the mini sessions (less than 5 weeks). This means a student’s withdrawal status will not be reflective in the student’s myUHV account until the 13th, 5th, or 2 nd class day.

The University will refund a percentage of the tuition and required fees charged to students who officially withdraw from all courses at the institution according to the schedules below. Class days, during the fall and spring terms, are counted from the first official class day of a term. The first official class date of the term may differ from the actual start date of a course – refer to the Important Dates and Deadlines ( http://calendar.uhv.edu/default.aspx?type=&view=Grid&category=24-0&numdays=45 ) .

Withdrawal Refunds (no longer enrolled during a term)

    Prior to First Class Day

    During the First 5 Class Days

    During the Second 5 Class Days

    During the Third 5 Class Days

    During the Third 5 Class Days

    After Fourth 5 Class Days

    Regular Academic Session – 16 weeks

    100%

    80%

    70%

    50%

    25%

    No Refund

    Prior to First Class Day

    During the First 3 Class Days

    During the Second 3 Class Days

    During the Third 3 Class Days

    Five, Eight & Ten Week Sessions

    100%

    80%

    50%

    No Refund

    Prior to First Class Day

    First Class Day

    Second Class Day

    Third Class Day

    Mini Session – Less Than 5 Weeks

    100%

    80%

    50%

    No Refund

     

    Dropped Course Refunds

    Dropped course refunds ONLY apply when one or more classes are removed from your schedule, but you remain enrolled in at least one course. Reducing semester credit hours to zero is considered a withdrawal and withdrawal refund policies apply.

    The University will refund tuition and required fees for dropped courses according to the schedules below.

    Class days, including Saturdays during the fall and spring terms, are counted from the first official class day of a term (this date may differ from the actual start date of a course). Please refer to the Important Dates and Deadlines at http://www.uhv.edu/oar/Calendar.aspx.

    On or Before 1st Official Class Day

    On or Before 4th Class Day

    On or Before 12th Class Day

    Regular Academic Session- 16 weeks

    N/A

    N/A

    100%

    Five, Eight, & Ten Week Sessions

    N/A

    100%

    N/A

    Mini Session – Less Than 5 Weeks

    100%

    N/A

    N/A


    Student Refund Options

    Students will select a delivery method for refunds in the Jaguar Card activation process. Delivery option choices include: direct deposit to the Jaguar Card, direct deposit to the student’s bank of choice, or paper check to be mailed. If a delivery method is not selected by the student, refunds will be delivered to the student via paper check which will be mailed approximately 21 days after refunding processes are complete. Refund of tuition of fees originally paid by a debit or credit card will be refunded back to the debit or credit card.

    Student Responsibilities

    Prior to enrolling, students are responsible for ensuring they meet course requirements and prerequisites. Unmet course requirements including course prerequisites are insufficient grounds for a refund of tuition and fees. Students are strongly encouraged to speak with an advisor if they have any questions regarding course prerequisites and to ensure the course(s) they plan to take applies to their degree plan.

    Schedule changes may affect financial aid eligibility. It is strongly advised that students who have been awarded financial aid speak with a Financial Aid Counselor prior to making schedule changes or completely withdrawing as award eligibility may be affected.

    Understand and follow proper withdrawal procedures. Stopping payment on a check for tuition and fees or allowing the check to be returned unpaid by the bank for any reason does not constitute official withdrawal.

    Watch refund dates when making schedule changes or withdrawing. Once a student registers, he or she is responsible for the total charges assessed regardless if the installment plan option has been selected. Refund percentages are applied to total charges assessed and not the amount paid. This means students who withdraw before paying all installments or paying a tuition loan in full may, in the event of withdrawal, still owe the University.

    General Information

    Undergraduate 6-Drop Limit:

    Texas Education Code (51.907) prohibits students enrolling for the first time as a freshman during the Fall 2007 academic term or any term thereafter from dropping more than a total of six courses in their entire undergraduate career. This total includes any course a transfer student has dropped at another 2-year or 4-year Texas public college or university. This does not apply to courses dropped prior to the census date (see the Important Dates and Deadlines, http://calendar.uhv.edu/default.aspx?type=&view=Grid&category=24-0&numdays=45 ), calendar or to courses for which the student receives an administrative withdrawal or if the student withdraws from the entire term or session. Please refer to the online catalog for more details.

    Tuition Refund Appeals

    Tuition appeals are considered for medical emergency, military duty, natural or national emergency, severe economic hardship, or university error. Appeals must be submitted within the term that the tuition and fees were paid. To initiate the tuition refund appeal process, students submit the Tuition and Fee Refund Appeal Form online at https://web3.uhv.edu/oarforms/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2foarforms%2fforms%2fAppeals.aspx .

    Additional documentation may be required. Tuition appeals received after the deadline will not be considered. The appeal committee generally reviews appeals once a month.

    Services and Privileges

    Student services and privileges, including library services, use of computer labs and parking terminate when a student cancels registration or withdraws from the University. Stopping payment on a check used to pay tuition and fees is NOT official notice of cancellation, withdrawal or dropping of courses and WILL NOT release the student from their financial obligation for those courses.

    Policy on Financial Responsibility

    Students incur charges for a variety of services provided by the UH System, the University and community colleges, including bookstore, security, parking, housing, and food services. It is the expectation, as well as a condition of enrollment at the University of Houston-Victoria, that students satisfy their financial responsibilities in a timely manner. Students may be subject to one or more of the following sanctions if they are delinquent in meeting university financial obligations:

    1. Financial holds paid with a paper or electronic check are not released until the payment has cleared banking processes. Generally paper checks clear banking processes within 10 business days and electronic checks clear within 5 business days. Financial holds paid by cash, cashier’s check, money order, or credit card are lifted within 24 hours.

    2. Late payment service fees may be assessed.

    3. Financial holds will be placed preventing the release of transcripts and further enrollment at UHV or other UH campuses.

    4. Credit and grades for work done may be held and grades may be changed to W for students who fail to pay by the end of the semester.

    5. Degrees may be delayed or not conferred until financial obligations have been satisfied.

    6. Non-payment by the end of the semester and after due notice will result in transfer of the student’s account to an outside collection agency with assessment of additional collection fees.

    7. The delinquency will be reported to the credit bureau which may adversely affect credit worthiness.

    8. The delinquency will be reported to the State and a hold will be activated. This hold will prohibit reimbursement of funds payable to the student from any state agency.

    Returned Checks

    When a check or e-check payment is returned to the University, a $30 service charge is assessed. Students are expected to make payment in full by cash, credit card, cashier’s check or money order immediately upon University notification. Additionally, students who write or produce two bad checks to UHV or any entity affiliated or contracted with UHV will forfeit check writing privileges.

    Auditing a Course

    Students may request to audit an online or face to face course. To audit a course, students must complete an audit application, which can be requested in the Student Billing and Card Services Office or requested via email at billing@uhv.edu. Audit approval is subject to seating availability so applications are not issued prior to the late registration period. Regardless of residency status, students auditing a course will be required to pay resident tuition and fee rates but are not assessed a late registration fee. Auditing normally conveys only the privilege of observing and does not include submitting papers, taking tests or participating in laboratories or field work. Academic credit is not given for an audited course.

    Waivers and Exemptions

    Fee waivers and exemptions are issued only for the period in which a student is currently enrolled. Students should submit necessary paperwork to the Student Billing and Card Services Office, University West Building Room 113. Below is a list of some of the waivers and exemptions commonly used at UHV. For a complete listing of all waivers and exemptions available to students please visit the College for Texans website: http://www.collegeforalltexans.com/, and choose Paying for College, Type of Financial Aid.

    Faculty and Dependents (54.211 Texas Education Code) – Teachers, professors and researchers of state institutions of higher education are entitled to register themselves, their spouses, and their children, by paying resident tuition and fees. This residence waiver is without regard to the length of time they have resided in Texas, provided the employees are employed at least one-half time.

    Student Employees (54.212 Texas Education Code) – Teaching assistants and research assistants are entitled to register themselves, their spouses and their children by paying the tuition and other fees charged to Texas residents. This residency waiver is without regard to the length of time they have resided in Texas, provided the students are employed at least one-half time in a teaching or research position relating to their degree program.

    Military Personnel and Dependents (54.241 Texas Education Code) – Officers or enlisted personnel of the Army, Army Reserve, Army National Guard, Air National Guard, Air Force, Air Force Reserve, Navy, Navy Reserve, Marine Corps, Marine Corps Reserve, Coast Guard or Coast Guard Reserves of the United States who are assigned to duty in Texas are entitled to register themselves, their spouses and their children at the University by paying Texas resident tuition and fees. This tuition waiver is without regard to the length of time they have been assigned to duty or resided in the state.

    Blind and Deaf Students (Section 54.364 Texas Education Code) – Blind or deaf students who are residents are entitled to exemption from tuition and certain fees if they present: (1) certification of blindness or deafness (2) proof of Texas residency (3) high school diploma or GED equivalency (4) letter of recommendation by high school principal, clergyman, public official or other responsible individual and (5) letter of student intent.

    Senior Citizens (Section 54.365 Texas Education Code) – Senior citizens (persons 65 years and older) who wish to obtain academic credit may enroll for up to six semester credit hours of courses offered by the University each term without payment of tuition if space is available and if admission requirements are met. Students are responsible for the payment of all mandatory fees. Credit hours taken in excess of six hours will be charged normal tuition and fees. A senior citizen who wishes to audit a course offered by the university may do so without payment of tuition and fees, provided space is available and normal auditing requirements are met.

    Texas Veterans (Hazlewood Act, Section 54.341 Texas Education Code) – The University exempts students from paying tuition and fees excluding the student service fee. Eligibility requirements include: the student must have resided in Texas for 12 months prior to registration; must have been a legal resident of Texas at the time of entry; must have served in the armed forces at least 180 days of active duty; must have an honorable discharge or a general discharge under honorable conditions; not be eligible for federal education benefits such as: Federal Pell or SEOG grants; if eligible, cannot exceed the amount of tuition and fees; not be in default of Hinson-Hazlewood college student loan or a federal loan; and must have less than 150 credit hours taken on the Hazlewood Act since the Fall, 1995.

    Children of Disabled Firefighters and Law Enforcement Officers (Section 54.351 Texas Education Code) – The University exempts student whose parent has suffered an injury resulting in death or disability sustained in the line of duty. Eligible parents include full-paid or volunteer firefighters; full-paid municipal, county, or state peace officers; custodial employees of the Texas Department of Corrections, and game wardens. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board must certify the student’s eligibility.

    Economic Development and Diversification (Section 54.222 Texas Education Code) - The nonresident portion of tuition is waived. The student is responsible for payment of resident tuition. Waivers are granted to a limited number of students. This waiver is available for nonresident and domiciled international students whose families transferred to Texas as a part of the State’s Economic Development and Diversification Plan. Applications for this waiver can be found at theCollege for Texans website or http://www.collegeforalltexans.com/.

    Children of Professional Nurse Faculty and Staff Members (Section 54.355 Texas Education Code) – Exemption from tuition only. The student must be a Texas resident under 25 years of age. The faculty or staff member must be a registered nurse and must be employed or under contract at the School of Nursing during all or part of the academic term for which the exemption is sought. Children of part-time faculty and staff members receive an exemption equivalent to the parent’s percentage of employment. Eligibility ends when the student has received an exemption for 10 semesters/summer sessions at any institution(s) or has received a baccalaureate degree.

    Clinical Nursing Preceptors and their Dependents (Section 54.356 Texas Education Code) – Tuition up to $500 is exempted. The student receiving this exemption must be a Texas resident under 25 years of age and must be enrolled at the University. The preceptor must be a registered nurse and must be under a written preceptor agreement with the School of Nursing during the semester for which an exemption is sought. Eligibility ends when the student has received an exemption for 10 semesters/summer sessions at any institution(s) or has received a baccalaureate degree.

    Competitive Scholarship Recipients (Section 54.213 Texas Education Code) – The nonresident portion of tuition is waived. The student is responsible for payment of resident tuition. Waivers are granted to a limited number of students. To quality for this waiver a student must be a nonresident or international student receiving competitive scholarships in an amounts equal to or greater than $1,000. Recipients must have competed with other students, including Texas residents, for the award, which must be administered by a school recognized scholarship committee.