Academic Standards & Policies
Timely Degree Completion
Undergraduate 6-Drop Limit:
In 2007, the Texas Legislature passed a law (S.B. 1231) which prohibits students enrolling for the first time as a freshman during or after Fall 2007 from dropping more than a total of six (6) courses in their entire undergraduate career. This total includes any course a transfer student has dropped at another 2-year or 4-year Texas public college or university.
Courses that Count Towards the 6-Drop Limit:
- The 6-drop limit applies only to students enrolling for the first time as a freshman during the fall 2007 academic term or any term thereafter at a public college or university in Texas, including UHV.
- Drops that count towards the limit are those for which a student receives a grade of W on his/her UHV transcript as well as any equivalent drops reported on that student’s transcript(s) from other Texas public colleges and universities.
- If a student started college fall 2007 or thereafter, and then transferred to UHV from an affected Texas public college or university with six drops that are equivalent of W, the student may not drop any additional courses at UHV after the census date for the term.
- If the student transfers with fewer than six drops, the student may drop the remainder of the allowed drops at UHV.
Courses that Do Not Count Towards the 6-Drop Limit:
- Courses dropped prior to the census date (see “Academic Calendar”).
- Courses for which the student receives an administrative withdrawal.
- Courses dropped in which the student withdraws from the entire term.
- Courses dropped by a student while the student is enrolled in high school (e.g., dual credit, Early College High School Grants, etc.) and not yet graduated.
Awarding of Grades if the 6-Drop Limit has been Reached:
Once UHV determines that a student has accrued a total of 6 drops on courses attempted at any Texas public college or university, including UHV, it will not allow that student to drop any additional course at UHV. Once enrolled in a course, these students with 6 drops can only be awarded an A,B,C,D,I or F grade by their instructor.
Exemptions to the 6-Drop Limit:
Certain exceptions may be made to the limit if the student can show good cause for dropping more than that number, including but not limited to a showing of:
- A severe illness or other debilitating condition that affects the student’s ability to satisfactorily complete the course;
- The student’s responsibility for the care of a sick, injured or needy person if the provision of that care affects the student’s ability to satisfactorily complete the course;
- The death of a person who is considered a member of the student’s family or who is otherwise considered to have a sufficiently close relationship to the student that the person’s death is considered to be a showing of good cause;
- The active duty service as a member of the Texas National Guard or the armed forces of the United States of either the student or a person who is considered to be a member of the student’s family or who is otherwise considered to have a sufficiently close relationship to the student that the person’s active military service is considered to be a showing of good cause;
- The change of the student’s work schedule that is beyond the control of the student and that affects the student’s ability to satisfactorily complete the course; and
- Other reasons of good cause as determined by the institution.
Students requesting one or more of the above exemptions should submit an appeal form, along with required supporting documentation of evidence ofextenuating circumstances, to the Office of the Registrar and Student Records. Appeal forms are available online at http://www.uhv.edu/oar/pdf/Appeal_Form.pdf.
Office of the Registrar and Student Records
University of Houston-Victoria
3007 N. Ben Wilson
Victoria, TX 77901
Fax: (361) 580-5500
Denied Exemptions – Appeal Process
Any student who wants to appeal the initial decision to deny an exemption to the 6-Drop limit for dropping a course may appeal to UHV for further review. Such appeals must be submitted in writing before the final grades for the course(s) are posted by the instructor. Appeal forms are available online at http://www.uhv.edu/oar/pdf/Appeal_Form.pdf.
Students appealing the initial decision can only do so for one of the following reasons:
- To determine whether the process leading to the original decision was fair; and
- To determine whether the decision reached regarding the request was based on substantive evidence.
The decision of the review committee will be final.
Undergraduate Enrollment Cap
The Texas State Education Code (54.068) applies only to undergraduate students who are Texas residents paying resident tuition and who enrolled for the first time in a Texas college or university in the Fall 1999 term or after.
This code authorizes a limit on the number of hours those student may attempt while paying in-state tuition.
- Students who initially enrolled in or after Fall 199 and before Fall 2006 are allowed to attempt only the number of hours necessary to complete a degree in their approved major plus 45 hours.
- Students who initially enrolled in or after Fall 2006 are allowed to attempt only the number of hours necessary to complete a degree in their approved major plus 30 hours.
Attempted hours are calculated for courses in which a student is enrolled on the Official Reporting Day (ORD) [typically 12th class day for fall or spring; 4th class day for summer], not by the courses in which a student receives a grade (passing, failing, or W).
When students to whom this law applies enroll (register) for courses that exceed this limit, state law authorizes the university to charge additional fees up to a maximum of the out-of-state tuition rates.
If you stop attending a class with the intent to drop, be sure you drop on or before the Official Reporting Date (ORD) date or these hours will count toward your in-state tuition limit.
Please note that UHV does not currently charge additional fees for exceeding the undergraduate enrollment cap.
Undergraduate Enrollment Course Cap (i.e., “Three-Peat” Rule)
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Rules (Chapter 13, Subchapter F, 13.108) authorizes institutions to charge additional fees to undergraduate students who enroll in a course [undergraduate or graduate] for the third or more time.
Attempted courses are those in which a student is enrolled through the Official Reporting Day (ORD) [typically 12th class day for fall or spring; 4 th class day in summer]. Semester credit hours or contact hours attempted by students for the following types of coursework are exempt from the provisions of this section:
- Thesis and dissertation courses.
- Courses that may be repeated for credit because they involve different or more advanced content each time they are taken, including but not limited to individual music lessons, selected topics (when the topic changes), theater practicum, music performance, ensembles, certain physical education and kinesiology courses, and studio art.
- Independent study courses.
- Special topics and seminar courses.
If you stop attending a class with the intent to drop, be sure you drop on or before the Official Reporting Day (ORD) or these courses will count towards your two attempts.
Please note that UHV does not currently charge additional fees for exceeding this enrollment cap.
45 Hours to Undergraduate Major Policy/Reverse Articulation Requirement (House Bill 3025) – Applies only to undergraduate students who enter the university in Fall 2012 and thereafter.
Under House Bill 3025, each student enrolled in an a bachelor's degree program at UHV shall file a degree plan no later than the end of the second regular semester immediately following the semester in which the student earned a cumulative total of 45 or more semester credit hours for coursework successfully completed by the student, including transfer courses, international baccalaureate courses, dual credit courses, and any other course for which the institution the student attends has awarded the student college course credit, including course credit awarded by examination.
A student transferring to UHV who begins the student's first semester with 45 or more semester credit hours of course credit for courses shall file a degree plan no later than the end of the student's second regular semester (fall or spring term). A student whose first term is summer will have through the end of his/her fall term to file the degree plan.
At each registration for a semester, a student who is required to have filed a degree plan before that semester shall verify that:
(1) the student has filed a degree plan; and
(2) the courses for which the student is registering are consistent with that degree plan.
If a student does not timely file a degree plan as required, will be notified that the degree plan is required by law under House Bill 3025 and require the student to consult with an academic advisor for that purpose during the semester in which the student receives the notice. The student may not obtain an official transcript from UHV until the student has filed a degree plan.
Reverse Articulation Requirement. Legislation passed as part of House Bill 3025 also establishes a reverse articulation program for the awarding of an Associate’s degree. Students who transferred from, or previously attended, a lower-division institution of higher education, earned at least 30 semester credit hours for coursework at the lower-division institution, and have completed 66 semester credit hours while enrolled at a general academic institution, will be contacted by their general academic institution to provide permission to send the lower-division institution the student’s transcript. The lower-division institution will evaluate the transcript to see if the student is eligible to receive an Associate’s degree.