Skip to Main Content
UHV Logo
University of Houston - Victoria

Academic Advising

Academic advising is handled differently depending on your declared* major. If you are pursuing a degree in Arts and Sciences or Education and Human Development, a staff advisor will prepare your degree plan in consultation with your faculty advisor; most questions regarding your degree plan should be directed to your faculty advisor.

Freshman and Sophomore students with less than 60 hours

*Appointments are recommended

Email: StudentSuccessAdvisor@uhv.edu

All Freshman and Sophomore students (less than 45 hours)

Ashleigh Kellis-Carr (Last names A-F and Athletes)

Manager, Student Success, Student Success Coach (freshman advisor)
University West, Room 133B
(361) 570-4362

Veronica Lopez (Last Names G-N)

Student Success Coach (freshman advisor)
University West, Room 104-J
(361) 570-4225

Sara Thurmond (Last Names O-Z)

Student Success Coach (freshman advisor)
University West, Room 133C
(361) 570-4361

School of Arts and Sciences Advisors:

Undergraduate & Graduate Students

Students with home zip codes from 77000 to 77599:
(Last names starting with A - L)
Tamara Lair, Advising Coordinator
E-mail: LairT@uhv.edu
(281) 275-3346
Students with home zip codes from 77000 to 77599:
(Last names starting with M - Z)
Anette Phillips, Sr. Student Services Coordinator
E-mail: PhillipsA@uhv.edu
(281) 275-3374
Students with home zip codes outside of 77000 to 77599:
Candace Boyd, Advising Coordinator
E-mail: boydcd@uhv.edu
(361) 570-4113

Samantha Bell, Advising Coordinator
E-mail: BellSK@uhv.edu
(361) 570-4184

All Athletes

Cherlyn Hodge, Advising Coordinator
E-mail: HodgeC@uhv.edu
(361) 570-4237

F-1 International Students:

Magen Besancon, F1 International Student Services Coordinator
E-mail: BesanconM@uhv.edu
(361) 570-4185

If you have any questions about our Study Abroad Programs in London, Mexico, or Spain, please contact Magen Besancon.

Prospective Students:

E-mail: artssciences@uhv.edu


School of Business Administration Advisors:

If you are pursuing a Business Administration degree, your staff advisor is assigned based on your location, and will serve as your contact for all questions related to your degree plan.

Victoria

Maggie Hernandez
Student Advising Coordinator – All Programs
E-mail: HernandezMR3@uhv.edu
Phone: (361) 570-4227
Office Information: UHV - University West 213

Sugar Land

Angela Green
Student Advising Coordinator – Undergraduate Business Programs
E-mail: GreenA@uhv.edu
Phone: (281) 275-3027

Kristy Hennessey
Marketing/Recruitment Coordinator – Graduate Business Programs
E-mail: HennesseyK@uhv.edu
Phone: (281) 275-3318

Cinco Ranch

Lisa Dorris
Student Advising Coordinator – Undergraduate Business Programs
E-mail: DorrisL@uhv.edu
Phone: (832) 842-2980

Rosie McCusker
Manager, Student Recruitment & Marketing – Graduate Business Programs
E-mail: McCuskerR@uhv.edu
Phone: (832) 842-2858


School of Education and Human Development Advisors:

Victoria

Sandy Hybner
Recruitment Coordinator
E-mail: HybnerS@uhv.edu
Phone: (361) 570-4252

Deborah Westbrook
Certification Analyst
E-mail: WestbrookD@uhv.edu
Phone: (361) 570-4853

Dianna O'Quinn
Certification Analyst
E-mail: OquinnD@uhv.edu
Phone: (361) 570-4264

Cinco Ranch

Delandra Hampton
Certification Analyst
E-mail: HamptonD@uhv.edu
Phone: (832) 842-2853

Sugar Land

Lisa Veal
E-mail: VealL@uhv.edu
Phone: (281) 275-3370


School of Nursing:

All Campuses

Phone: (361) 570-4370 or toll free 1-877-970-4848 ext. 4370
E-mail: nursing@uhv.edu

Victoria

Tammy Neeley Whatley
Senior Student Recruitment Coordinator
E-mail: WhatleyT@uhv.edu
Phone: (361) 570-4297 or (877) 970-4848 ext. 4297
Office Hours: 7 a.m.-6 p.m. Monday through Thursday

Cinco Ranch

Heather Kight
Advising Specialist
E-mail: KightH@uhv.edu
Phone: (832) 842-2875
Office Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday by appointment

Sugar Land

Kacy Pullin
Advising Specialist
E-mail: PullinkL@uhv.edu
Phone: (281) 275-3053
Office Hours: 8 a.m.-5:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday by appointment
                      8 a.m.–noon Friday (walk-in appointments)