UHV Logo
University of Houston - Victoria

Academic Affairs
Office of the Provost

University Committees

Faculty Senate


The Faculty Senate is an elected body of the Faculty Council and represents the Faculty Council on a regular basis: (l) to provide a forum wherein any matter associated with the institution can be openly discussed by any faculty member; (2) to enable the faculty to reach informed collective decisions on academic matters; (3) to advise the administration on non-academic matters; and (4) to give the faculty a collective voice in issues relating to the exercise of academic freedom, professional rights, and professional responsibilities in the university community. The Faculty Senate consists of at least 9 members, 2 from each academic school and the members of the Executive Committee. Members of the Faculty Council of each of the academic schools choose their Senators.

Report to:

President, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Faculty Council


Executive committee:

  • Ronald Salazar, President, Associate Professor, School of Business Administration
  • Elsa Soto Leggett, Vice-President, Associate Professor, School of Education and Human Development
  • Justin Bell, Secretary, Assistant Professor, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Denise Neill, Immediate Past President, Associate Professor, School of Nursing

Representatives of the School of Arts & Sciences:

  • TBA, Assistant Professor
  • Alireza Tavakkoli, Assistant Professor
  • Mark Ward, Assistant Professor

Representatives of the School of Business Administration:

  • Joseph Ben-Ur, Professor
  • Jifu Wang, Associate Professor
  • Jun Yang, Assistant Professor

Representatives of the School of Education and Human Development:

  • Paul Carlson, Professor
  • Joann Olson, Assistant Professor
  • Barba Patton, Associate Professor

Representative of the School of Nursing

  • Lisette Barton, Assistant Professor
  • Terry Kirk, Associate Clinical Professor
  • Kathleen Reeve, Associate Clinical Professor

Updated Fall 2013 (September 24, 2013)

⇐ Back to University Committees