Skip to Main Content
UHV Logo
University of Houston - Victoria

Academic Affairs
Office of the Provost

University Committees

Core Curriculum Committee


The Committee shall consist of all full-time faculty teaching core curriculum courses and a representative from each of the academic schools not teaching core courses. The school representatives will be elected annually by the faculty of each school. The chair of the committee will be elected annually by its members.

Reports to:

Faculty Senate Committee


  • Review school policies and procedures for core course design and assessment
  • Advise schools and individual core faculty on alignment of course-level learning objectives with state-mandated standard learning objectives.
  • Advise schools and individual core faculty on assessment of student learning outcomes in compliance with external mandates.
  • Facilitate dissemination and discussion of best practices in general-education pedagogy.
  • Address concerns of core faculty and make appropriate recommendations to the Faculty Senate.
  • Review proposals submitted to the Undergraduate Affairs Committee for adding, deleting, or changing courses in the University of Houston-Victoria core curriculum and recommend approval or disapproval to the Faculty Senate.

School of Arts & Sciences

  • Mai Shakra Abo
  • J. Keith Akins
  • Justin Bell
  • Sandra Carter
  • Armando Chavez-Rivera
  • JingJing Cui
  • Hashimul Ehsan
  • Craig Goodman
  • Kim Herzinger
  • Diana Lopez
  • Jesica McCue
  • Amjad Nusayr
  • A.J. Ortega
  • Jennifer Ortiz-Garza
  • Jang Woo Park
  • Saba Razvi
  • Dmitri Sobolev
  • Alireza Tavakkoli
  • Ricardo Teixeira, Chair
  • Beverly Tomek
  • Gino Tozzi
  • Qi Zhu
  • Zheng Zhu
  • John Kagochi, School of Business Administration
  • Diane Prince, School of Education and Human Development
  • Lisette Barton, School of Nursing

Updated Fall 2014 (January 5, 2015)

⇐ Back to University Committees